Memories – BBA Challenge

MEMORIES – January 2017 Challenge

christmas-christmastree-2014

Our Christmas Tree – 2016

Our January challenge is brought to us by Lana from Lanas Art ( www.etsy.com/shop/LanasArt ) This is her challenge:
“December is time to celebrate Christmas (if anyone in our team does not feel related to it, please replace the celebration of your holiday, New Year, Kwanza, etc…..) and be with friends and family. Through your blog post, art, photos, or writing please express what this year thought you so far and what hopes (goals) you achieved. Time to celebrate this year memories!!!”

Thank you Lana for your January Challenge of asking us to share the joy of our family Christmas celebration.

This year was a little different with a lot of changes.  As many of you know or remember, I have been doing the Christmas Pageant at our Church for 26 years; the past 12 with my daughter helping to direct and coordinate 70 little children (with only 3 Practices) into a very special Christmas Eve celebration.  Since we would spend two months getting Scripts, Costumes, Practices, organized by the time it was over on Christmas Eve, we were both exhausted, only to rush home to have everyone arriving for Christmas Dinner. 

img_0511-480x640

 

zachary-babyjesus-pagent-2009-800x655

 

 

 

 

 

Nativity Scene – Christmas Pageant                                                      Pageant – Zachary – Baby Jesus

 

As I said this year was a little different, and one in which even my children mentioned how much they enjoyed this year more than any in a long time.  Since my boys were in High School, we would always have a few of their friends every year for Christmas Dinner.  This year, with no Pageant, I decided to make Christmas Eve family only.  It was the first time in many years that we really bonded as a family.  It was nice to see my sons and daughter sharing memories of growing up and some of the crazy things they used to do. Without all the extra people at the house, my daughter, Kelly and one of my son’s girlfriend actually really got to know each other, sharing many of their own memories.  Even the boys, Keith and Ryan mentioned the next day how much they enjoyed Christmas Eve as a family. 

christmas-1993

                                                                         Kelly, Keith, Ryan

What would Christmas be without children!  Zachary, now 7, seemed to be the “master of ceremony” as he passed out each gift that was placed under the tree.  Zachary loved his pajama’s received from his Grammy (me)!

zachary-christmas-2016-in-pjs

                                                                   Zachary in his new pj’s

Books have always been a big tradition at Christmas. Since my children were infants – there were always Christmas books under the Tree.  Each year I bring out some of the books and place them under the Tree, as well as a book I received at my own 1st Christmas.  So keeping traditions going, this year was no difference with gifts of books for each other. My son, Ryan gave me this book “The Light we Cannot See” – (it is a beautiful story)! 

christmas-1t-babybook-1-30-17

 

My First Christmas Book

 

  a5f2f9a03508e0a3f7c9f6c68ac533de

                                                                                                                                   My Newest Gift!                      

I would be remiss in not mentioning that both my boys did a lot of the cooking also. When I was doing the Pageant. Ryan would do most of cooking, and arrive with everything hot and ready to place on the Table!  Kelly did bring the wine (which is just as important)!!!

Since we are a very small family (just us), I look forward to again celebrating Christmas as a family who will again share the many traditions we have created throughout the years!

juelez-christmas

Juelez celebrating Christmas

 

 

About Pamela Baker

For as long as I can remember, I have always been interested in various crafts. After crocheting for many years, recently I started designing OOAK jewelry pieces, always learning new techniques as I continued. I also have always loved to write, so I look forward to being a part of this Blog as one it's contributors. As a lifelong resident of NY, I am busy with my two shops on Etsy: MagdaleneJewels (OOAK designed jewelry items: Necklace,Bracelets, Earrings,rings): also, MagdaleneKnits (Crocheted & Knitted items for Newborns to Adults) I can also be found on FB, Twitter, Pinterest, Word Press, YouTube. My Blogs are: http://pamelabaker.wordpress.com/wp-admin/users I also intend to bring tutorials to help you develop your Shops more effectively to increase your Views and Sales on the various mediums you may be selling your work on. I am always a convo or email away if you have any specific questions I can help you with.
This entry was posted in All Members, BloggingBusinessArtisans, Challenge, Christmas, Family Life, MagdaleneJewels, My Personal Blog and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Memories – BBA Challenge

  1. natashalh says:

    Books are a always part of Christmas in my family! My parents quickly brought my husband into the tradition and started giving him books before we were even married, and my mom continues to send books to us each year. It’s great you were able to reconnect as a family at Christmas this year – it must have been very special for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. BeadedTail says:

    Glad you had such a special Christmas! Thank you for sharing your memories!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

