March Challenge – The Color Green

March Challenge – The Color Green

The color Green has always been associated as the color of Ireland.  In reality, Ireland’s National color has always been Blue, dating back to 1542 when Ireland was changed into a Kingdom under the rule of King Henry VIII. 

Determined to separate Ireland from its rule under the Pope and Catholicism, King Henry declared Ireland as a separate Kingdom.  Centuries later, King George decided to bring Ireland back to its previous rule and revive the “Kingdom of Ireland”.

Often referred to as the ‘Emerald Isle’, due to Ireland’s rural fields of rich “green” landscape; making the color “Green” was seen as a natural way of illustrating Ireland and its Irish roots.

Another symbol of Ireland’s Heritage is it’s Aran Stitched “Irish Knit Sweater”.  My little model “Cossette”, is a perfect representation of Ireland’s Green Heritage.

A few “Green” items featured from my Shops: MagdaleneKnits & MagdaleneJewels, as well as some lovely items from the Member’s of the BBA Team (Business Blogging Artisan Team).

CustomOrder.IrishKnitSweater w Matching Blanket 11.12.14 (602x800)

Cossette modeling
Crocheted Irish Knit Sweater, Hat w Matching Afghan
Crocheted ArtYarn Scarf.cuffs
                                                Crocheted Sage Green ArtYarn Scarf w matching Cuffs –                                                  Thanks to my model Samantha (Dr Sam)
Earrings.Peridot Pendant Earrings 2.19.17
Peridot Swarovski Crystal Earring Pendants
 Earrings.ArtDecoVintageEmeraldSwarovskiCrystals
Emerald Swarovski Crystal Earrings
 Vintage Crystals Emerald Marquise Crystal Drops
 Bracelet.EmeraldSwarovskiCrystals.VintageChain
Emerald Rhinestone Bracelet Vintage 14K Gold Plated Chain

I also found these beautiful “Irish Green” items from other Members of the Blogging Artisans Team!

RandomCreative.CuffBracet.EasterGreen 3.16.17 

Random Creation. Cuff Bracelet, Easter Bracelet
 PruittSupply.GreenSatinRibbon 3.17.17
Pruitt Supply:  Green Satin Ribbon
 BeadedTail.GreenCrystal Memory Bracelet 3.17.17
BeadedTail:  Green Crystals Memory Bracelet (Sale)
 LanasArt.ChanelArt.Green Colors 3.17.17
LanasArt – Chanel Fashion Art Print

 

NouveauNiche.Shamrock Watercolor

Nouveau Niche – Shamrock Watercolor Art
About Pamela Baker

For as long as I can remember, I have always been interested in various crafts. After crocheting for many years, recently I started designing OOAK jewelry pieces, always learning new techniques as I continued. I also have always loved to write, so I look forward to being a part of this Blog as one it's contributors. As a lifelong resident of NY, I am busy with my two shops on Etsy: MagdaleneJewels (OOAK designed jewelry items: Necklace,Bracelets, Earrings,rings): also, MagdaleneKnits (Crocheted & Knitted items for Newborns to Adults) I can also be found on FB, Twitter, Pinterest, Word Press, YouTube. My Blogs are: http://pamelabaker.wordpress.com/wp-admin/users I also intend to bring tutorials to help you develop your Shops more effectively to increase your Views and Sales on the various mediums you may be selling your work on. I am always a convo or email away if you have any specific questions I can help you with.
This entry was posted in All Members, BloggingBusinessArtisans, Challenge, MagdaleneJewels, MagdaleneJewelsBlog, MAGDALENEKNITS, My Personal Blog, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to March Challenge – The Color Green

  1. natashalh says:

    Pretty greens! My poor mom always had to wear orange on St. Patrick’s Day as a kid…in Boston! Orange is the color of Protestant Irish, and her family was adamant about not wearing green on St. Pat’s because that was for the Catholic Irish.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pamela Baker says:

    Glad you liked my “pretty” green items to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day. Yes, I well know about the “Orangemen” (a term given to Anglican Irish. Good thing they didn’t have the bullying they have today when your mother went school. I can’t imagine! My grandmother was Irish Catholic and my grandfather was English Protestant – so I remember their many discussions on the subject!

    Like

  3. Duni Buesken says:

    I love green in all variations! Such pretty finds. St. Patrick’s Day is not observed over here, but I love seeing all the shamrock decorations on social media 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pamela Baker says:

    Thank you Duni – St. Patrick’s has always been one of the most popular holiday’s here, esp in NY where so many first Irish Immigrants arrived at Ellis Island in the early 1900’s. So it has a lot of history here!

    Like

Leave a Reply

