Along the Hudson

Tappan Zee Bridge

Tappan Zee Bridge.Watermarked 2.28.17

 

Tappan Zee Bridge, Hudson River, Tarrytown NY

 

 

Continuing my “Series” of “Along the Hudson” – I would be remiss in leaving out this beautiful shot of the “Tappan Zee Bridge”!

In 1950, with the increasing demands for commuter travel taxing the existing bridges and tunnels, near mid-town NYC, the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey had plans in 1950 to construct a bridge across the Hudson in connecting Westchester County to Rockland County. It was finally decided to construct the Tappan Zee Bridge, named after a New York tribe from the area called “Tappan); (25 mi from NYC) connecting Tarrytown, NY across the River to Nyack, NY connecting the two Counties and chosen to be as close as possible to the New York City area. 

Construction started in March 1952 and the bridge opened to traffic on December 15, 1955, along with a 27-mile (43 km) long section of the New York State Thruway.  The site of the Bridge, stretches across the widest part of the Hudson River, measuring 3 mi in length (one of the widest Bridges in the US).

Built to last approximately 50 years, due to material shortages during the Korean War; no one anticipated the amount of traffic it would generate connecting a faster route from New York to New Jersey. Anyone who has driven across this Bridge knows that the average rush-hour time can be at least one hour to cross the Bridge. Unfortunately, the Bridge has not withstood the span of time with deteriorating roadways, with erosion underneath the Bridge. 

Although most of my friends are afraid to cross the Bridge, to me it is such a beautiful experience.  On a beautiful sunny day, I feel as if I am suspended in space and can touch the clouds.  Driving North, if one looks to the left you can see the Skyline of Manhattan, while looking to the right you will see as far as Albany.

“All things shall pass” – about 2 years ago, construction started to build a new Bridge which towers over the beauty of the present Bridge.  Started in 2015, and to be concluded in 2018, one can see from the photo showing a part of the construction, how it completely hides the beauty of the original Tappan Zee Bridge.

 

TappanZee.updated Construction.watermarked 2.28.17

Construction of the “New” Tappan Zee Bridge

 

 

About Pamela Baker

For as long as I can remember, I have always been interested in various crafts. After crocheting for many years, recently I started designing OOAK jewelry pieces, always learning new techniques as I continued. I also have always loved to write, so I look forward to being a part of this Blog as one it's contributors. As a lifelong resident of NY, I am busy with my two shops on Etsy: MagdaleneJewels (OOAK designed jewelry items: Necklace,Bracelets, Earrings,rings): also, MagdaleneKnits (Crocheted & Knitted items for Newborns to Adults) I can also be found on FB, Twitter, Pinterest, Word Press, YouTube. My Blogs are: http://pamelabaker.wordpress.com I also intend to bring tutorials to help you develop your Shops more effectively to increase your Views and Sales on the various mediums you may be selling your work on. I am always a convo or email away if you have any specific questions I can help you with.
This entry was posted in All Members, Along the Hudson Series, BloggingBusinessArtisans, History Science, MagdaleneJewels, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment